National Assembly: Permanent Bureau Re-elected

The election took place at the Ngoa-Ekelle National Assembly House Chamber on March 14

Hon.Cavaye Yeguie Djibril was on March 14, 2019 re-elected for the 27th consecutive time, the Speaker of the National Assembly of Cameroon. He heads a permanent bureau that will pilot the affairs of the National Assembly for the 2019 legislative year until electors are called for the polls to elect new Members of the National Assembly later this year.

The entire bureau elected in 2018 legislative year was re-elected in Thursday, March 14, 2019 election. Hon. Enow Tanjong, the eldest Member of the National Assembly chaired the earlier part of the plenary sitting dedicated for the election of the permanent bureau until Hon. Cavaye Yeguie Djibril took over after being re-elected.

In a total of 138 votes cast, Hon. Cavaye Yeguie Djibril scored 118 and the remaining 20 were void ballot papers. The Senior Vice President of the National Assembly, Hon. Hilarion Etong won 115 of the 136 votes cast with 21 void ballot papers. The Speaker and the Senior Vice President whose candidatures were all proposed by the leader of the ruling Cameroon People’s Democratic Movement (CPDM) Parliamentary Group, Hon. Ndongo Essomba Jean Bernard were voted through uninominal system of voting.

The remaining members of the permanent bureau that comprise of five Vice Presidents, four Questors and 12 Secretaries were voted through consensual lists constituted by the political parties represented in the National Assembly. What will for ever be remembered during the election of the permanent bureau members of the National Assembly for the 2019 legislative year is the speech of President – elect, Hon. Cavaye Yeguie Djibril. He thanked the President of the Republic who doubles as the National President of the CPDM, Paul Biya for investing him candidate of the CPDM for the post.




    List is empty.

Lead a Comment

Same category