2023 Women’s World Cup : Intriguing Group Stage Pairings

The draw of the competition held on Saturday October 22, 2022 in Auckland, New Zealand.

While three spots remain up for grabs, 29 teams have already qualified for the 2023 Women’s World Cup to take place in Australia and New Zealand from July 20 August 20, 2023. The 29 qualified nations can now advance their plans for next year’s tournament, which will be the first FIFA Women’s World Cup to feature 32 teams. The 32 teams were divided into eight groups of four during the draw of the competition which held on October 22, 2022 in Auckland, New Zealand. The draw will equally help to inspire the nations competing in February’s Play-Off Tournament in search of the last three spots of the competition. The Indomitable Lionesses of Cameroon are taking part in this last qualification tournament and will have to do everything possible to get a spot in the competition by finishing as Group A winner of the playoff. To win, they have to first of all beat Thailand before playing Portugal. If they qualify, they will thus have to play defending Champions, United States, Vietnam and Netherlands in Group E. 
It should be said that African teams that have already qualified for the competition have a seemingly tough task ahead. Nigeria for example has been pooled in Group B alongside co-host, Australia as well as Republic of Ireland and Canada. Canada will be entering the tournament as reigning Olympic Games gold medallists and will be eager to claim their first World Cup title. Co-hosts, Australia have never made it past the quarter-finals and will be struggling to do better in this edition.

Complete Pairings

Group A
New Zealand



    List is empty.

Lead a Comment

Same category