Appointment of 30 Senators : The New Faces

Going by the Presidential decree of March 31, 2023, a total of 11 persons are making their maiden entry, 19 maintained and 10 are out of the House.

The President of the Republic, Paul Biya on March 31, 2023 appointed 30 Senators. This adds to the 70 elected Senators and completes the House to 100. According to the Presidential decree, eleven persons are being appointed Senators for the first time, 19 of the last legislature maintained and 10 have left the House. Every region has at least a newly appointed lawmaker, but for the East and South Regions whose Senators in the last legislature were maintained. 
Going by region, the Adamawa has one new face amongst the three appointed Senators. He is Oumarou Mazadou, a political scientist who has written so many books, amongst them “The Evolution of Governance in Present Day Africa.” The Centre Region counts two; Robert Nkili, former Minister of Transport and Sournac Henriette, President, Director General of Inter Press Group. In the Far North Region, the two new faces are Djorwe Paulin, a Barrister-at-law and current National Chairman of the Democratic Movement for the Defence of the Republic (MDR) and Malloum Bra. The Littoral, North and North West Regions have one entry each, respectively, Ernest Mouen Diboundje, Yves Tizi Tourmba Malaye of the Cameroon National Salvation Front (FSNC) and Vanigansen Mochoiggle of the Social Democratic Front (SDF). In the West Region, there are two main faces prominent amongst them Seidou Mbombo Njoya, former President of the Cameroon Football Federation and one of CAF’s Vice Presidents who replaces his father Sultan Ibrahim Mbombo Njoya, who died. In the South West Region, the lone maiden entry is Fon Ekoko Mukete, Paramount Ruler of the Bafaws, who also substitutes his father, Fon Mukete Essimi Ngo Victor, deceased.  

Maintained Senators 
A total of 19 persons who were in the last legislature were maintained in the appointment of 30 Senators. Prominent amongst them is Ze Nguele René, former Minister and Marlyse Aboui of the National Alliance of Democracy and Progress (NADP); all of the East Region. In the Littoral Region, Etame Massoma David Siegfried, former Minister and Pierre Flambeau Ngayap, Secretary General of the National Union for Democracy and Progress (NUDP) were maintained. The Lamido of Rey-Bouba, Aboubakary Abdoulaye of the North is also not leaving the lawmaking House. For the period 2023 to 2028, Fon Chafah Isaac, Secre...



    List is empty.

Lead a Comment

Same category